Announcement of New Canada CIFAR AI Chairs

Dec. 9, 2019

Six new Canada CIFAR AI Chairs affiliated with the School of Computer Science have been announced by CIFAR in Vancouver. The faculty members are Christophe Dubach (to start in 2020), Siamak Ravanbakhsh, Siva Reddy (to start in 2020), Timothy O'Donnell (Linguistics, associate member of SOCS), Fernando Diaz (MSR Montreal, adjunct member of SOCS), and Nicolas Le Roux (Google Brain, adjunct member of SOCS). The chairholders will join other AI researchers at McGill and University of Montreal at the Mila - Quebec AI Research Institute. The Canada CIFAR AI Chair program is designed to accelerate research in artificial intelligence in Canada, and to maintain Canada's leading position in artificial intelligence research by attracting top faculty and students.